ASLA Central States Chapter Recognizes Excellence in Design

May 06, 2022
Landscape Architecture Parks & Open Space Health Science Education College & University

RDG Planning & Design has been honored for outstanding contributions to landscape architecture with designs that positively impact communities and improve quality of life.

The Central States Region of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) has recognized RDG Planning & Design with three 2022 ASLA Awards. These awards recognize organizations and individuals who demonstrate superior skill in the practice and/or study of landscape architecture.

The three projects recognized include Big Bull Creek Park – Phase One in Edgerton, Kansas (Honor Award, Design Built); Des Moines University – Medical and Health Science Campus in West Des Moines, Iowa (Merit Award, Design Unbuilt); and Thompson Park in Overland Park, Kansas (Merit Award, Design Built).

“The individuals who contributed to these projects are passionate about bettering people’s lives through inclusive, innovative and culturally reflective design and these awards reflect that commitment,” said RDG Senior Partner Cary Thomsen, PLA, ASLA. “We’re proud to share this recognition with our partners and the communities we serve and are honored that this now award-winning work is being recognized for the way it positively impacts people and improves their quality of life.”

RDG’s Jonathan Martin, PLA, ASLA, Anne Machian, PLA, ASLA and Cary Thomsen, PLA, ASLA accept the firm’s three ASLA Central States Awards at the 2022 Central States Conference in Tulsa, Oklahoma on May 6.

Participation in the ASLA Central States award program helps broaden professional boundaries, increases public awareness of the role of landscape architects and raises the standards of the discipline. The Central States encompasses six individual chapters of the American Society of Landscape Architects, including the Arkansas, Iowa, Oklahoma, Prairie Gateway, Nebraska/Dakotas and St. Louis chapters.

Written by Erin Van Zee, Communications Director